The land of milk and honey


Peace advocates
June 30, 2008, 7:25 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am extremely excited to leave for Israel in a few short hours. I am especially looking forward to experiencing Israel with a group of young people who have never visited before. Part of this program will be learning “how to be Israel advocates.” I’m not sure yet exactly what that will mean, but I’m pretty sure it will mean right-wing activists dispelling rumors of Israeli oppression and peaceful Palestinian activities. The trainings will probably foster love and total political support for Israel. It will teach the kids how to argue with pro-Palestinian students on their college campuses. I love Israel and I believe in Zionism, but I hope after we learn to be Israel advocates, we also learn to be peace advocates. I don’t think you have to choose between these two causes. I believe they’re one in the same. Peace is infinitely complicated and difficult to achieve, but there are isolated examples of coexistence in Israel. Villages like Neve Shalom/Wahat Al-Salam give me hope. I don’t know what the terms should be for a two state solution, but I know we will have to sacrifice more to achieve it. Haven’t we sacrificed enough? Yes. But that attitude will only cause more deaths and more misery.  The Jews were promised the land of Israel, the land the Torah says is flowing with milk and honey. But the Jews were also promised peace and prosperity in this land. That is the dream we have yet to see take shape.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment